We are now accepting nominations to honor refugee community leaders!

Twin Cities World Refugee Day has been one of many celebrations taking place in more than 100 countries involving government officials, humanitarian aid workers, celebrities, civilians and the forcibly displaced themselves. In 2013, the Twin Cities WRD planning committee wanted to recognize refugees doing inspiring work– and so began the tradition of honoring community leaders.

To nominate a community leader, please send the individual’s name, contact information, and a short summary of the work they do in the community to Saida at


Previous honored community leaders:

Have you met our previous honorees? They are extraordinary individuals who have contributed to Minnesota’s various communities in unique and significant ways

“Poor people are not poor in spirit or poor in community.” - 2014 Bush Fellow, UMN OLPD PhD Candidate, and TCWRD Honorary Chair Jamal Adam, who lived 7 years in a refugee camp.

“My role is to not just share my story but also to encourage others to share theirs and to really start a conversation about our contributions [as] refugees and immigrants…” – Sousada Chidthachack







2015 Honorary Chairs: (L to R) Mimi Oo , Wilhelmina Holder, Jameelah Hassoon, Saw Poe Thay Doh

2014 Honorary Chairs: (L to R) IBé, Sousada Chidthachack, Jamal Adam, Ifrah Mansour, Caroline Nguyen Ticarro-Parker, Vichet Chhuon

2013 Honorary Chairs: (L to R) Mrs. Eva Saucedo, Susan Mezum Lien, Chay Douangphouxay, Khadra Abdi, Angelique Cooper-Liberty, Amina Saleh (not pictured)